

National Book Award

"Established in 1950, the National Book Award is an American literary prize administered by the National Book Foundation, a nonprofit organization."

- from the National Book Foundation website.

2017: Sing, Unburied, Sing by Jesmyn Ward2016: The Underground Railroad by ColsonWhitehead

2015: Fortune Smiles by Adam Johnson

2014: Redeployment by Phil Klay

2013: **Good Lord Bird** by James McBride 2012: **Round House** by Louise Erdrich

2011: Salvage the Bones by Jesmyn Ward

2010: Lord of Misrule by Jaimy Gordon

2009: Let the Great World Spin by Colum McCann

2008: Shadow Country by Peter Matthiessen

2007: Tree of Smoke by Denis Johnson

2006: The Echo Maker by Richard Powers

2005: Europe Central by William T. Volmann

2004: The News from Paraguay by Lily Tuck

2003: The Great Fire by Shirley Hazzard

2002: Three Junes by Julia Glass

2001: **The Corrections** by Jonathan Franzen

2000: In America by Susan Sontag

1999: Waiting by Ha Jin

1998: Charming Billy by Alice McDermott

1997: Cold Mountain by Charles Frazier

1996: **Ship Fever and Other Stories** by

Andrea Bartlett

1995: Sabbath's Theater by Philip Roth

1994: A Frolic of His Own by William Gaddis

1993: **The Shipping News** by Annie Proulx

1992: **All the Pretty Horses** by Cormac McCarthy

1991: Mating by Norman Rush

1990: Middle Passage by Charles Johnson

1989: **Spartina** by John Casey

1988: Paris Trout by Pete Dexter

1987: **Paco's Story** by Larry Heinemann 1986: **World's Fair** by E. L. Doctorow

1985: White Noise by Don DeLillo

1984: Victory Over Japan by Ellen Gilchrist

1983: **The Color Purple** by Alice Walker

1982: Rabbit Is Rich by John Updike

1980: **Sophie's Choice** by William Styron

1979: Going After Cacciato by Tim O'Brien

1978: Blood Tie by Mary Lee Settle

1977: **The Spectator Bird** by Wallace Stegner

1976: J.R. by William Gaddis

1975: Dog Soldiers by Robert Stone

The Hair of Harold Roux

by Thomas Williams

1974: Gravity's Rainbow by Thomas Pynchon

1973: Chimera by John Barth

1972: **The Complete Stories** by Flannery O'Connor

1971: Mr. Sammler's Planet by Saul Bellow

1970: **Them** by Joyce Carol Oates

1969: **Steps** by Jerzy Kosinski

1968: **The Eighth Day** by Thornton Wilder

1967: The Fixer by Bernard Malamud

1966: Collected Stories

by Katherine Anne Porter

1965: Herzog by Saul Bellow



Pulitzer Prize for Fiction

"For distinguished fiction published in book form during the year by an American author, preferably dealing with American life..."

- from the Pulitzer website.

2017: **The Underground Railroad** by Colson Whitehead

2016: **The Sympathizer** by Viet Thanh Nguyen

2015: All the Light We Cannot See by A. Doerr

2014: The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt

2013: Orphan Master's Son by Adam Johnson

2012: No prize awarded

2011: A Visit from the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan

2010: Tinkers by Paul Harding

2009: Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout

2008: **The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao** by Junot Diaz

2007: **The Road** by Cormac McCarthy

2006: March by Geraldine Brooks

2005: Gilead by Marilynne Robinson

2004: **The Known World** by Edward P. Jones

2003: **Middlesex** by Jeffrey Eugenides

2002: **Empire Falls** by Richard Russo

2001: The Amazing Adventures of

Kavalier and Clay by Michael Chabon

2000: Interpreter of Maladies by Jhumpa Lahiri

1999: The Hours by Michael Cunningham

1998: American Pastoral by Philip Roth

1997: Martin Dressler: The Tale of an

1996: **Independence Day** by Richard Ford

1995: **The Stone Diaries** by Carol Shields

1994: **The Shipping News** by Annie Proulx

1993: A Good Scent from a Strange Mountain by Robert Olen Butler

1992: A Thousand Acres by Jane Smiley

1991: Rabbit at Rest by John Updike

1990: **The Mambo Kings Play Songs of Love** by Oscar Hijuelos

1989: **Breathing Lessons** by Anne Tyler

1988: **Beloved** by Toni Morrison

1987: A Summons to Memphis by Peter Taylor

1986: Lonesome Dove by Larry McMurtry

1985: Foreign Affairs by Alison Lurie

1984: Ironweed by William Kennedy

1983: **The Color Purple** by Alice Walker

1982: Rabbit Is Rich by John Updike

1981: A Confederacy of Dunces by John Kennedy

Toole

Pulitzer Prize (cont.)

1980: **The Executioner's Song** by Norman Mailer

1979: The Stories of John Cheever by John Cheever

1978: **Elbow Room** by James Alan McPherson

1977: No prize awarded

1976: **Humboldt's Gift** by Saul Bellow

1975: The Killer Angels by Michael Shaara

1973: **The Optimist's Daughter** by Eudora Welty

1972: **Angle of Repose** by Wallace Stegner

1970: Collected Stories by Jean Stafford

1969: House Made of Dawn by N. Scott Momaday

1967: The Fixer by Bernard Malamud

American Dreamer by Steven Millhauser



Man Booker Prize

"The Man Booker Prize is the leading literary award in the English speaking world, and has brought recognition, reward and readership to outstanding fiction for over four decades."

- from the Man Booker Prize website.

2017: Lincoln in the Bardo by George Saunders

2016: **The Sellout** by Paul Beatty

2015: A Brief History of Seven Killings by Marlon James

2014: **The Narrow Road to the Deep North** by Richard Flanagan

2013: Luminaries by Eleanor Catton

2012: Bring Up the Bodies by Hilary Mantel

2011: The Sense of an Ending by Julian Barnes

2010: **The Finkler Question** by Howard Jacobson

2009: **Wolf Hall** by Hilary Mantel

2008: **The White Tiger** by Aravind Adiga

2007: **The Gathering** by Anne Enright

2006: **The Inheritance of Loss** by Kiran Desai

2005: **The Sea** by John Banville

2004: **The Line of Beauty** by Alan Hollinghurst

2003: Vernon God Little by D.B.C. Pierre

2002: Life of Pi by Yann Martel

2001: **True History of the Kelly Gang** by Peter Carey

2000: Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood

1999: Disgrace by J. M. Coetzee

1998: Amsterdam by Ian McEwan

1997: **The God of Small Things** by Arundhati Roy

1996: Last Orders by Graham Swift

1995: Ghost Road by Pat Barker

1994: **How Late It Was, How Late** by James Kelman

1993: Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha by Roddy Doyle

1992: Sacred Hunger by Barry Unsworth

The English Patient

by Michael Ondaatje

1991: **Famished Road** by Ben Okri

1990: Possession: A Romance by A. S. Byatt

1989: **Remains of the Day** by Kazuo Ishiguro

1988: Oscar and Lucinda by Peter Carey

1987: **Moon Tiger** by Penelope Lively

1986: The Old Devils by Kingsley Amis

1985: The Bone People by Keri Hulme

1984: Hotel du Lac by Anita Brookner

1983: The Life & Times of Michael K

by J. M. Coetzee

1982: **Schindler's List** by Thomas Keneally

1981: Midnight's Children by Salman Rushdie

1978: **The Sea, The Sea** by Iris Murdoch

1977: Staying On by Paul Scott

1976: Saville by David Storey

1975: Heat and Dust by Ruth Prawer Jhabvala

1974: **The Conservationist** by Nadine Gordimer

1973: The Siege of Krishnapur by J. G. Farrell

1972: **G** by John Berger

1971: In a Free State by V. S. Naipaul

FICTION AWARD WINNERS



National Book Award
Pulitzer Prize for Fiction
Man Booker Prize



1100 E Street San Rafael, CA 94901 (415) 485-3321 www.srpubliclibrary.org